Darrell Issa | Serving California's 49th District
Press Releases
July 2, 2014
35 Members Call on President to Stop Policies Putting Child Immigrants at Risk

WASHINGTON, DC – Today, Congressman Darrell Issa (CA-49) along with 34 other Members of Congress sent a letter to President Barack Obama on the current immigration crisis involving unaccompanied minors crossing our nation’s southern border. Currently, thousands of minor children are undertaking a perilous journey from their home countries to the United States. The letter calls on the President to end the unilateral executive action known as “Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA)” and to make an explicit public commitment that newly arrived illegal immigrants will not receive legal status.  Below is an excerpt from the letter to President Obama:

“As our country faces an unprecedented surge in the arrival of unaccompanied alien children (UACs) at our southwestern border, we call on you to immediately end the failed policies that encourage young individuals to put themselves in peril, leave their home countries, and make a long and dangerous journey to enter our country illegally.”

 “As Congress considers legislative proposals to ensure our system is reserved for deserving applicants, we urge you to cooperate with Congressional leaders to provide accurate data on the recent surge and work for legislative reforms that ensure the safe repatriation of these minor children to family members in their home countries and provide the commitment necessary to secure our border.”


The full text of the letter can be read here.

Signatures include: Rep. Darrell Issa, Rep. Pete Sessions, Rep. Sam Graves, Rep. Lamar Smith, Rep. Blake Farenthold, Rep. Gus Bilirakis, Rep. Marsha Blackburn, Rep. T0m McClintock, Rep. John Duncan, Rep. Tom Cotton, Rep Jim Bridenstine, Rep. Alan Nunnelee, Rep. Gregg Harper, Rep. Doug LaMalfa, Rep. Paul Gosar, Rep. Lynn Jenkins, Rep. Vicky Hartzler, Rep. Tom Cole, Rep. Markwayne Mullin, Rep. Ken Calvert, Rep. Brad Wenstrup, Rep. Virginia Foxx, Rep. Ander Crenshaw, Rep. Phil Gingrey, Rep. Rob Wittman, Rep. Ralph Hall, Rep. Roger Williams, Rep John Campbell, Rep. Steve Stockman, Rep. Dan Benishek, Rep. David Jolly, Rep. Ted Yoho, Rep. Tim Griffin, Rep. Michael Burgess, and Rep. Rob Woodall.

Facebook Twitter