Skip to main content
Front of the Capitol building

Congressman Issa-Led Bill to Protect American Consumers Passes House Judiciary Committee

September 29, 2021

Washington D.C. – Today, following the passage of the SHOP SAFE Act, H.R. 5375, Congressman Darrell Issa, Ranking Member on the House Judiciary Subcommittee on Courts, Intellectual Property, and the Internet issued the following statement:

“For too long, millions of Americans have been duped into purchasing counterfeit goods on online marketplaces, and our legislation will turn the tide and provide unprecedented consumer protection,” said Congressman Issa. “With this reform, platforms that allow third-party sellers to peddle counterfeit products will finally be held responsible for this frequent fraud and damage to consumer confidence.”

The Act also specifically helps trademark holders protect their trademarks and their customers from the flood of dangerous counterfeit products entering the United States, primarily from China.

“The SHOP SAFE Act also ensures that online platforms are incentivized to engage in best practices for screening and vetting sellers and products, addressing repeat counterfeiter sellers, and ensuring that consumers have access to valid information when shopping online.”

The SHOP SAFE Act incentivizes online marketplaces to improve their ability to detect and stop counterfeit goods by protecting online marketplaces from liability if they comply with anti-counterfeiting measures, including requirements to better vet third-party sellers and provide more information to consumers about where the products they buy are originated.

Darrell Issa is the Representative of California’s 50th Congressional District. The District encompasses the central and northeastern parts of San Diego County and a portion of Riverside County, including the communities of Fallbrook, San Marcos, Valley Center, Ramona, Escondido, Santee, Lakeside, El Cajon, Temecula, and the mountain and desert areas of the San Diego-Imperial County line. Issa served as the Chairman of the House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform from 2011-2015.