Skip to main content
Front of the Capitol building

Statement by Congressman Darrell Issa Responding to Today’s Remarks by President Biden

August 16, 2021

(Washington, D.C.) – Congressman Darrell Issa (CA-50) today released the following statement on the President’s remarks about the fall of Afghanistan and the rapid advance of the Taliban:

“We waited a full six days for our vacationing President to address the nation. But after hearing his remarks, he might as well have stayed at Camp David.

 “President Biden once again repeated the falsehood that he was forced by his predecessor to do what he did not want to do. But that’s not true. The fact is, President Biden alone is responsible for the chaos and mayhem in Afghanistan that is getting worse by the hour. He and he alone made the decisions that turned over American equipment, technology, and weaponry to the Taliban and surrendered our Embassy to terrorists.

“His claims that this was unavoidable, or part of his planning are ludicrous. Yes, America eventually had to leave Afghanistan—but on America’s terms, not the Taliban’s.

“President Biden, his foreign policy team and his Administration haven’t even come close to taking responsibility for what they’ve done to America’s standing and our national interest. That’s why I am reiterating my call for Speaker Pelosi to convene an emergency session of the House of Representatives. We need a face-to-face dialogue and the full truth of this fiasco. Anything less is insufficient to conduct appropriate oversight and Congressional activity.”

The Congressman’s correspondence to Speaker Pelosi can be found here.

Darrell Issa is the Representative of California’s 50th Congressional District. The District encompasses the central and northeastern parts of San Diego County and a portion of Riverside County, including the communities of Fallbrook, San Marcos, Valley Center, Ramona, Escondido, Santee, Lakeside, El Cajon, Temecula, and the mountain and desert areas of the San Diego-Imperial County line. Issa served as the Chairman of the House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform from 2011-2015.